Username:
Password:
Remember Me [ Forgot? ]

Welcome to Kayak Crazy, Please Login or Signup!
Welcome to the Kayak Crazy Forum!
New Page 1
Kayak Forum
Forums
Moderators: KC Kevin, Red Rocket, Jaydawgx7, Jared James, Administrator, LazyBanana, Sir_Flips_Alot, Mod Adrian, Grunt, moderatortest, Truik, Jess9689, Bob, KC Scarlett
Author Post
KayakCamper
Sat Dec 31 2016, 12:54AM
Hi, just found this forum and thought I'd join! So I'm new to the kayak game. I'm looking for a kayak that I can use on both rivers and lake (mostly lake). I want to bring it with me on camping/hiking excursions so I'd like to have something that I could carry a fair distance. The dream is to go lake hopping. Walk from one lake to the next while camping in between. Then go fishing as I go across each lake. Does anyone know a kayak(s) that might fit the bill?

Thanks!
Paddler
Sat Dec 31 2016, 03:29PM
Here's an excellent site to get started:

[Click Here]

Lots of good information about safety, water, skills, etc. If you plan on doing a lot of camping, you need a kayak with at least two hatches to carry your camping gear - as well as a good cart if you plan to do a lot of portaging with the boat. Waterproof bags, as well.

Your best bet is to find a good outfitter (NOT a box store as they sell junk), discuss what you want to do, and try before you buy.

Best wishes.

[ Edited Sat Dec 31 2016, 03:32PM ]
KayakCamper
Sat Dec 31 2016, 04:04PM
Thanks Paddler!
Bob
Wed Jan 04 2017, 12:50AM
Welcome Aboard!

Bob

Jump:     Back to top

User Colour Key:
Head Administrator, Moderator, Member